Yama:  The 1st Limb of Yoga


Yamas are the universal moral commandments and consist of 5 principles:

1. Ahimsa (non-harming)
2. Satya (truthfulness)
3. Asteya (non-stealing)
4. Brahmacharya (appropriate sexual conduct)
5. Aparigraha (non-attachment)

To begin practicing the 8 Limbs of Yoga, start with the Yamas, and ask yourself the following questions:

1. Where in my life am I being harmful – towards myself, others, the environment, etc.?

2. Where am I not being truthful to myself and to others?

3. Where am I taking more than I need – natural resources, other people’s time, etc.?

4. What do I consider appropriate sexual conduct?  Am I practicing appropriate sexual conduct towards myself and others?

5. Do I let go of the need to attach to my thoughts, people, material things, etc.?

It is important to be aware of where there is room for improvement in your life. Then, the next step is to take action and strive to be better. We are human and can’t always be perfect, but to have awareness of how you are effecting yourself and the rest of the world is a step in the right direction.

Next:  2nd Limb of Yoga